Pasta and Sugar

I know it’s not THAT unorthodox, given that pasta consists of 75% carbyhydrates. Nevertheless, it is my weirdest treat to shove white sugar over my pasta. 

My Grandpa used to have one ‘proper’ bowl of noodles with sauce, Bolognese quite likely. And then have another bowl with sugar for dessert. So whenever I eat this mix today it is a sweet childhood memory. My Grandpa suffered from lung cancer and passed away when I was 14. He was a warm, generous man, and he had this weird habit of sleeping with his hand on his head, so that his ellbow pointed high in the air. It looked so funny! I recently discovered that my son does the same. He does not share my fling for Grandpa’s weird dessert.

Anyway, if you really want to treat yourself: put pasta and sugar in the pan together and let it caramelize. Mhmh yammieh!

Cheers, Nae73

3 thoughts on “Pasta and Sugar

  1. This is very Asian actually! I lived in Thailand and they do add sugar in their pasta 😛 You can add as much chili and sugar as you like in your pad thai notably..You should give it a try 😉

    Like

  2. Pingback: Drop dead | More Action Research

  3. Pingback: Agreeable Differences | TyroCharm

Leave a Reply

